Target audience reaserch

 

1

My first question that I asked on my survey was the question “Are you male or female”. I Asked this question as I wanted to know what gender could be the majority of people watching my music video. From this I found out that there will be more males than females watching my music video so from this I can design my music video to meet the tastes of males slightly more than females

 

 

 

 

 

2

 

My second question was very important to me as I picked the music genre of house/deep house so wanted to know and understand from an audience what style of music video I should create. From this I was very happy with the results I received back from the survey as overall the narrative style had the majority of votes and before even creating this survey I wanted to create a narrative style music video. Therefore when it comes to filming I am going to have to tell a story through the video I create.

 

 

 

 

3

I asked this question to see what the target age would be when creating my music video as this would be very important to help me decide the visuals and story line of the narrative music video. Therefore I am going to aim my music video at 15-20 year old’s as this is my target audience for my music video.

 

 

4

I asked this question as I wanted to gather feedback on whether I should have a male or female protagonist in my music video. The results were very interesting and the majority of people said a male protagonist. However I am going to subvert the expectations of the audience and I am going to cast a female protagonist to get a reaction from the audience as this is not usual. Therefore they may end up enjoying the music video more.

 

 

5

 

I asked this question as in some house music videos the producer of the music is in the video. The majority of people said they would like to see the producer of the music in the video but once again I am going to subvert their expectations and cast people who will have no relevance to the song but will fit well with the narrative of the video.

 

 

6surveyyyyyy

I think editing is one of the biggest if not THE biggest element to a music video that will turn a good music video to a GREAT music video and that is why I wanted to ask this question in my survey. I am a big fan of editing and from these responses the majority of people say the editing should be fast. Therefore I am going to edit to the beat of the music which will be fast.

 

7

I asked this question to see how old the audience thinks the protagonist should be. The majority of people said 15-20. This is very useful in helping stick to the codes and conventions of a house music video and I am going to cast someone within that age range.